A brilliant consumer perspective of Occupational Deprivation!

pd2ot

Second year is proving challenging for maintaining an occupational balance that includes time for blog-writing. However, I find myself with a rare window of both time and motivation so will consider a few thoughts. After my frustrations of the first week of term I’ve found the content of the course so much more engaging and well delivered. We’ve had lectures on a range of topics including; learning disability, the Recovery Model and implementing evidence-based practice. We also had an lecture on working with individuals with Personality Disorder, which was thought provoking, honest and well-delivered. Interestingly it was not this lecture that had the most resonance for me, but rather the lecture on Occupational Therapy in forensic settings.

I have never been a patient in a forensic setting, but it was one of the first clinical settings that I visited when researching Occupational Therapy as a potential career. However, I have…

View original post 1,424 more words

Leave a Reply

