a fantastic student insight into recovery from Louise Hesketh and a fantastic new blog that everyone should keep an eye on 🙂

my occupational therapy journey

hope

As part of my recent adventure into using social media for professional development I have become a tweeter (@LouiseHeskethOT). Yesterday a fellow tweeter (@WayofRecovery) wrote ‘Some fear that promoting hope of recovery for everyone with severe mental illness is false unrealistic and colludes with denial of illness’. I replied to this with ‘it depends how people understand recovery, as I understand it it doesn’t mean cure’.

This got me thinking about a recent placement I went on in mental health and the clients I had met who were so full of hopelessness that they will ever be able to live the life that they want to because of their mental illness. They basically had come to accept that schizophrenia/depression/anxiety/personality disorder/obsessive compulsive disorder was the card that they had been dealt in life and therefore had resigned them-self to the role of a sick person who will never be able to engage in…

View original post 705 more words

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

